The non-European partner universities provide EMGS students with the opportunity to spend one academic term in another inspiring academic environment. Covering almost all world regions, the partner universities provide a unique opportunity for students to select an individual mobility track. In addition to the original partner universities –  Dalhousie University (Canada), Macquarie University (Australia), the University of California, Santa Barbara (USA), and Stellenbosch University (South Africa) – are Jawaharlal Nehru University (India), which is considered the best public university in India; Addis Ababa University (Ethiopia), a leading educational centre for junior university lecturers in one of the most dynamic African countries; the University of Yaoundé I (Cameroon), one of the leading academic centres in Francophone Africa; the University of Otago (New Zealand), which provides important insights into the Pacific world and is also closely connected to Canadian and South African centres of development studies; and the Fudan University (China).