Eligibility for Erasmus Mundus Scholarships


Students from all over the world holding a first degree are eligible for an Erasmus Mundus scholarship.

The European Union distinguishes between scholarships for Erasmus+ partner country nationals and for Erasmus+ programme country nationals. Countries associated to the programme are beng called “EU Member States and third countries associated to the Programme”, those not asscociated are being called third countries not associated to the Programme.

According to the European Union, “Partner Country Students” are students who are neither residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, training, or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last 5 years in an Erasmus+ programme country. The 5-year reference period for this 12-month rule is calculated from the submission deadline, which in the case of the EMGS programme for the 2023 intake 31 March.

Applicants with more than one nationality may choose under with category they want to apply (Erasmus+ programme country or partner country).

For the list of Erasmus+ programme countries, see here.

All students who have previously received an Erasmus Mundus scholarship for degree-seeking purposes will automatically be disqualified for the scholarship.

All students who are awarded an Erasmus Mundus scholarship will be provided with a scholarship contract.

Students who are awarded with the Erasmus Mundus scholarship are not allowed to study in their home country during the MA. This also applies for the optional term at one of the non-European partner universities.


Selection is based on the basis of predefined country slots (i.e. no more than three students selected should hold the same nationality).

On this basis, the EMGS Consortium’s Study Purposes and Selection Committee ranks applicants for Erasmus Mundus scholarships and submits the list to the European Commission. The Selection Committee ranks applications based on merit, together with the additional criteria according to the defined country quota, according to the following criteria:

  • academic excellence
  • academic potential
  • level of language skills
  • quality/recognition of home institution that awarded the first degree
  • motivation letter
  • recommendations
  • work experience/professional qualifications